University of Galway

The University of Galway was founded in 1845 and is located in western Ireland on the rugged coast of the Atlantic Ocean. It has a student population of nearly 19,000, 17% of which are international students from 122 countries. The university provides teaching and research across the sciences, social sciences and humanities, delivered through four colleges, 19 schools, five research institutes and a range of research centres and clusters. University of Galway aims to foster a vibrant community of students and staff, where distinguished learning, impactful research, and creative thinking are shared with the world. Four institutional core values underpin this: respect, openness, sustainability and excellence.

Within University of Galway, the Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT) supports and enables the development of a culture of excellence in teaching and learning by promoting methods that encourage active learner engagement and critical thinking. CELT is very much research-led and participates in international organisations and fora in the areas of teaching, evaluation, technology and higher education research.