MEDEA Awards

Recognising and Rewarding Excellence in the use of media to support learning and teaching.

‘Geld verstehen digital’, Germany winner of the MEDEA Award 2024! 🏆🎬

The 16th annual MEDEA Awards ceremony was held on Thursday 20 June, at the Town Hall of Leuven as part of the 2024 Media & Learning Conference: Back to the Future?, organised by the Media & Learning Association and endorsed by KU Leuven Learning Lab. This year, the prestigious MEDEA Award was awarded toGeld verstehen digital“, submitted by Sebastian Freisleder of FWU Institut fĂĽr Film und Bild, Germany. The Special Jury Prize was awarded to Please, Touch the Artwork 2” by Thomas Meynen, Studio Waterzooi, Belgium. And after a week of online voting involving over 1200 participants, the Audience Favourite Prize was awarded to Reimagining Geohazard Fieldtrips” submitted by Suzanne Bickerdike, University of Leeds, U.K.

The remaining finalists are:

125 entries were submitted this year coming from all over Europe as well as the US, Australia, Canada, Singapore, Kazakhstan and Indonesia! Entries included high-quality examples of MOOCs as well as podcasts, online games, media literacy interactive videos, virtual reality training resources and many more examples of how multimedia is used to support learning and teaching.

We thank SONY for once again sponsoring the prizes for the MEDEA Awards this year. Their support is very valuable in enhancing the awards and encouraging excellence in media and educational content. Media & Learning appreciate the continued partnership and commitment to the MEDEA Awards.

If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to us:

👉 MEDEA Awards – 2024 Winners Announcement Press Release

Participation Guidelines 2025

Before submitting your entry describing a multimedia production, resource, process, tool or service, we strongly recommend that you read the Judging Criteria to understand what the judges are specifically looking for and the criteria they will use when judging your submission, as well as the Terms & Conditions of submission, where you will find the rules for participation in the MEDEA Awards. Read also the important Copyright Information page.

Entries need to be submitted online before the closing date: 28 February ’25 (midnight). After the online submission of your entry, a signed copy of the submission form has to be sent to the MEDEA Awards Secretariat via post, e-mail or fax to arrive before the closing date: 28 February ’25 (midnight). All shortlisted finalists will be notified in April 2025 and will be invited to take part in the Awards Ceremony taking place during the 14th Media and Learning Conference, 18-19 June 2025, in Leuven, Belgium where the final winners will be announced.

The MEDEA Awards

  • The MEDEA Award for Best Educational Media entry. This award will be awarded to the best educational media, resource, tool or service produced in all sectors and at all levels of education and training.
  • The Special MEDEA Jury Prize. The judges may, at their discretion, present a special award to an approach or production in recognition of exceptional innovation in pedagogic or technical design.
  • The Audience Favourite Prize. During the Awards Ceremony, the audience has the possibility to elect its favourite entry.

The MEDEA Awards were launched in November 2007 and were an immediate success with submissions sent in from across Europe and beyond. Over the years, several new awards have been introduced, recognising and rewarding different aspects of the field of media in education and its importance in a European context. Since 2010 the MEDEA Awards are also integrated in the Media & Learning Conference, a conference bringing together practitioners and policymakers and highlighting the latest developments, services and digital and media competences in education and training.

From 2012 to 2014, the MEDEA Awards were supported by the Lifelong Programme of the European Commission through the MEDEAnet project. Two previous European Commission funded projects expanding the reach of the MEDEA Awards were called MEDEA:EU (2008-2011) and MEDEA2020 (2010-2012). From 2015 onwards, the MEDEA Awards have been supported by the Media & Learning Association.

In recent years there has been remarkable interest in the creation and use of digital video and audio in education, boosted by the increasing impact of multimedia and video-based websites and the widespread availability of mobile devices with increasing imaging capacity. The pedagogical vision is clear: it is only when video and audio are routine components of education and online learning, that we will have an educational environment that reflects the media-rich world in which our learners now live.

The annual MEDEA Awards have become a well-known landmark in the international educational calendar. The aim of this awards scheme is to encourage innovation and good practice in the use of media (audio, video, graphics and animation) in education. The awards also recognise and promote excellence in the production and pedagogical design of media-rich learning and teaching materials, resources, tools, processes and services.

Each year, the specific target of the year is announced along with the timetable for submission and judging. Entries need to be submitted via the online submission form before the specified deadline. Judging takes place online by a highly expert judging panel that is responsible for the selection of the MEDEA Award winners. The MEDEA Awards Judging Panel consists of key players and experts in the educational multimedia sector as well as representatives of higher education institutions, research centres, production houses and broadcasters specialised in the use of audio and visual material in education.

Once the finalists are selected, they are promoted through our channels including the Media & Learning Newsletter and invited to take part in the Awards Ceremony which takes place either during one of our face-to-face conferences or online.

The final winner (s) is announced during the Awards Ceremony.

The MEDEA Awards was set up to recognise and reward excellence in the field of media-enhanced learning in Europe. These awards were launched in 2007 by a small consortium of partners who are active in the field of media enhanced education and who are committed to raising awareness and promoting best practice in the innovative use of media to enhance education. The awards are managed by a small organising committee with experience in the area of education, e-learning and media production.

The founders of the MEDEA Awards were brought together by their wish to promote the use of media and video in education and their desire to encourage educators and trainers to benefit from the advantages of integrating new technologies and video in the curriculum. As the MEDEA Awards has grown, the team has been expanded to become the MEDEA Awards Organising Committee. The day-to-day activities of this competition are managed by the MEDEA Secretariat, which is based in ATiT, Belgium.

Current members of the organising committee are:

  • Janne Länsitie, Oulu University of Applied Sciences, Finland
  • John Murray, National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland
  • AndrĂ© Rosendaal, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
  • Mathy Vanbuel, Audiovisual Technologies, Informatics and Telecommunications (ATiT), Belgium
  • Lucy Kendra. Heriot-Watt, United Kingdom
  • Kara Johnston, Heriot-Watt, United Kingdom
  • Wim Van Petegem, KU Leuven, Belgium

We are looking for judges!

If you have relevant experience in the field of media, video, technology and education or training and if you would like to help judging submissions for the MEDEA Awards, please fill in this volunteer form.